Read reviews

Please read what our guests have to say about their stay with us.

Reviews

There are (1) Winton Outback Motel user reviews
Kristina Saunders
Very comfortable with lovely hosts
March 26, 2017 - Really Liked It
Spotlessly clean,comfortable bed. Would recommend staying here to my friends and family
There are (29) Reviews from around the web
tripadvisor
September 1, 2016 - Really Liked It
We stayed here in their converted ex-house next door to the main office. It is set up for families and does that quite well with 3 double beds in 2 rooms with a kitchen area as well. It is and upstairs unit so you have to be okay with 1 flight of stairs. There is also and outdoor area to sit and a down stairs 2nd bathroom and toilet. Great location as it is walking distance to the pubs for a meal.

by: Daz G, Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
tripadvisor
September 1, 2016 - Really Liked It
After nearly two months away we were delighted to stay with such friendly hosts and in a clean and roomy motel.
We were able to leave the car parked and walk into town. The resident Brolga birds were a source of intrigue as they appeared to be quite at home in the front grounds, but almost territorial if approached too closely. The hosts gave us suggestions of where to visit and so we saw both of the Dinosaur attractions, and local museums and were suitably impressed. We would stay here again if we go to Winton again.C & G MacDonald

by: Carol M, Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
tripadvisor
August 1, 2016 - Really Liked It
We stayed in a queen room. There is a strong smell that basically comes from the artesian basin water used in the town. The walls are not soundproof resulting in being able to hear noise from the next room. The bed was comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean. The equipment supplied worked well and in good condition.

by: rinod52, Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
tripadvisor
August 1, 2016 - Really Liked It
This motel in remote Winton is operated by an outstandingly cooperative couple Ray and Jan who understand how to delight their guests. Our room was spotless, quiet and well appointed and we lacked for nothing. There are good laundry facilities. The two pubs which serve good meals are a very short walk from the motel.
Winton has a very special tourist centre...a must visit. They will guide you to the two dinosaur attractions and nearby national park.
The road to Winton from Longreach is good... 110 k all the way.

by: Ken P,Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
tripadvisor
July 1, 2016 - Really Liked It
After a long drive in pouring rain from Longreach this place was great to see in my windscreen. First place i came to took the risk no knowing the place and checked in. I stayed in the new units not long completed i would say. Excellent, very cosy ,great bed , being new clean and bright. . Hosts very friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

by: williamjcra, Stayed July 2016, travelled on business

tripadvisor
July 1, 2016 - Really Liked It
A modern hotel and comfortable place to stay, but the most expensive on our trip west. Undercover parking for the car and tables and chairs outside under cover. Rooms are a good size, perhaps a tad sterile, bit as I said comfortable. Some trouble connecting Apple devices to the provided internet but likely associated with the device rather than what is provided. Managers helpful and great to deal with. Would I stay there again. Yep is the answer.

by: nambatri2016, Stayed July 2016
tripadvisor
July 1, 2016 - Really Liked It
We were lucky to find accommodation in Winton at short notice during the outback film festival. What a great place! Ray and Jan were the perfect hosts - Extremely helpful & friendly. Nothing was too much of a problem for them.
The room was clean and comfortable and only a short walk to the centre of town. Would definitely stay there again.

by: sueY8260OT, Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple

tripadvisor
June 16, 2016 - Really Liked It
A motel that does the job: clean beds, hot showers, convenient location. The walls are pretty thin and the cable TV is a bit dodgy but chances are you will have a satisfactory stay. Free wifi. Tattersalls Hotel 200 metres down the street will charge meals to your room.

by: CraigMike, Stayed June 2016, travelled on business
tripadvisor
June 14, 2016 - Really Liked It
We were flying in a light aircraft from Mt Isa to Longreach when a "weather event" forced us to divert to Winton. After sitting and pondering a while we decided to stay the night so searched for a motel. The Outback had a few good reviews so we rang up and Jan the owner/manager said yes they had room and that her husband Ray would be out to pick us up in about half an hour. That's service for you! So we secured the plane and got our things and Ray arrived. Both he and Jan were really great, the room was new and although nothing flash it was really just what we wanted and very clean. They recommended we go to the Tattersalls Hotel along the street for dinner. It was great. There was live music (Sax and the Single Girl) and really friendly staff and patrons and great steaks and Merlot. In the morning Ray drove us back out to the airport (both transfers free of charge and a good opportunity to find out more about the town). They have the Winton festival every two years in September and the motel is already booked out for next year! So we definitely recommend this town and this motel.

by: Firstfleet, Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
tripadvisor
June 1, 2016 - Really Liked It
First of all, the owners of this motel are absolutely wonderful. They are friendly, welcoming and obliging. NOTHING is a trouble to them.

We have been doing an outback Queensland trip in our own caravan. However, we chose to "spoil" ourselves with a 3 night stopover at this motel. So glad we did. We were able to park our caravan safely at the back of this motel which gave us peace of mind.

As I said the owners are fantastic; the rooms are very clean and the breakfast is substantial.

The Motel is within easy walking distance of the town of Winton and all its cafes and restaurants.

The rooms are more than adequate and were cleaned daily.

If you are ever in Winton...definitely stay here. An oasis in the outback.

by: Rainbowbeliefs, Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple